The “California Wage Theft Protection Act”
(Cal. Labor Code section 2810.5)
requires employers to provide a “Notice to Employee”
The “California Wage Theft Protection Act” (Cal. Labor Code section 2810.5) requires employers to provide a “Notice to Employee” that contains certain information, including the employee’s rate of pay, paid sick leave information, and other items. The Notice must be provided at the time of hire or within seven days of any changes to the information. Two significant changes will apply to the Notice as of January 1st:
- California recently passed SB 616, which will increase the amount of paid sick leave benefits that must be provided to most employees from 24 hours or three days to 40 hours or five days. This change must be reflected in the Notice.
- California recently passed AB 636, which will require that the Notice include additional information on “the existence of a federal or state emergency or disaster declaration applicable to the county or counties where the employee is to be employed, and that was issued within 30 days before the employee’s first day of employment, that may affect their health and safety during their employment.”
The Labor Commissioner recently published an updated Notice template that includes the required information.
If you have any questions about the new notice requirements, please call our office and one of our attorneys will review the requirements with you.
Reprinted with permission from Scott & Whitehead.